The 14th Nordic Photosynthesis Congress

From Basics to Redesigning Photosynthesis #npc14 #npc14turku #nordicphotosynthesiscongress


Local Scientific Organization Committee

Nordic Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Associate professor Yagut Allahverdiyeva-Rinne, University of Turku
  • Professor Stefan Jansson, Umeå University
  • Professor Poul Erik Jensen, University of Copenhagen
  • Professor Fikret Mamedov, Uppsala University
  • Professor Johannes Messinger, Uppsala University
  • Professor Cornelia Spetea Wiklund, University of Gothenburg

Our university

University of Turku

– a truly international research university, a provider and developer of Finnish high-quality education and a strong bellwether of its area.

The University of Turku has operations all over Finland – from Utsjoki, Lapland to Finnish Archipelago Sea. Education is mainly focused on three campuses: Turku, Pori and Rauma.

The main themes of the new strategy are effective research, responsible education, a catalyst for social well-being and the economy, and community well-being. The strategy is based on the common values of the University: ethicality, criticality, creativity, openness and communality.

The University of Turku is among the top 1 % in the World

an active academic community of 25 000 students and employees

Molecular Plant Biology Laboratory

We focus on understanding the capture of solar energy and production of carbon compounds in photosynthesis of plants, algae and cyanobacteria. Applied aspects of photosynthesis research include modification of photosynthesis for bioenergy production, waste water treatment and use of photosynthetic organisms as cell factories for the production of valuable compounds.


Aboa Congress and Event Services

If you have any questions regarding registration, accommodation, or the social program, please contact

We wish to thank the following sponsors and collaborators for the support: